1. When the holy old man Simeon foretold to Mary, that a sword of sorrow should pierce her soul, signifying thereby the passion and death of Jesus.
Our Father, Seven Hail Marys.

2. When Mary had to fly into Egypt, on account of the persecution of the cruel Herod, who sought to put Jesus to death.
Our Father, Seven Hail Marys.

3. When Mary lost her beloved Son, and sought him with tears during three days.
Our Father, Seven Hail Marys.

4. When Mary met her beloved Son carrying his cross to Mount Calvary, where he was going to be crucified for our salvation.
Our Father, Seven Hail Marys.

5. When Mary saw her Son Jesus raised up on the Cross, and shedding his blood from all the parts of his sacred body.
Our Father, Seven Hail Marys.

6. When Mary saw the soldier pierce the side of Jesus with his spear, and when the sacred body of Jesus, being detached from the Cross, was laid in the arms of Mary.
Our Father, Seven Hail Marys.

7. When Mary saw the most holy body of her Son Jesus buried in the tomb.
Our Father, Seven Hail Marys.

Then three Hail Marys are recited in honor of the tears shed by the Blessed Virgin in her dolors.


According to St. Bridget of Sweden (1303-1373), the Blessed Virgin grants seven graces to those who honor her daily by saying seven Hail Marys while meditating on her tears and sorrows:

  1. “I will grant peace to their families.”
  2. “They will be enlightened about the divine Mysteries.”
  3. “I will console them in their pains, and I will accompany them in their work.”
  4. “I will give them as much as they ask for, as long as it does not oppose the adorable Will of my divine Son or the sanctification of their souls.”
  5. “I will defend them in their spiritual battles with the infernal enemy, and I will protect them at every instant of their lives.”
  6. “I will visibly help them at the moment of their death—they will see the face of their mother.”
  7. “I have obtained this grace from my divine Son, that those who propagate this devotion to my tears and dolors will be taken directly from this earthly life to eternal happiness, since all their sins will be forgiven and my Son will be their eternal consolation and joy.”